Category: Interviews

My Interview with “Exponential Apocalypse” Author – Eirik Gumeny

My Interview with “Exponential Apocalypse” Author – Eirik Gumeny

When I was asked to review “Exponential Apocalypse” by Eirik Gumeny, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  What I found was a thoroughly entertaining and laugh-out-loud funny book that hit on so many familiar pop culture references, I felt right at home.  How funny was it, you ask?  Check out my review here to see for yourself.

Eirik was kind enough to chat with me recently, and put forth one of my favorite interviews to date, here at The Word Zombie.  It’s a veritable cornucopia of useful information on topics including the mission of Jersey Devil Press, the unlikely savior of Timmy the Super-Squirrel, gang-wars between Munchkins and Ewoks, and  – of course – the impending zombie apocalypse.  It a fun ride – buckle up and read on…

Read More Read More

My interview with “Follow The Money” author Ross Cavins

My interview with “Follow The Money” author Ross Cavins

This past week, I had the opportunity to chat with Ross Cavins, author of “Follow the Money”.  If you haven’t had a chance to read my review of the book, you can find it here.  We covered a wide range of topics including his experience with self-publishing, who and what makes him laugh, the stalker on his front lawn, and, of course, his plan of action once the zombie apocalypse finally occurs.

Read More Read More

My interview with “Search” authors – Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens

My interview with “Search” authors – Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens

I recently read “Search: A Novel of Forbidden History” by Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens.  It was a very entertaining read, and a great addition to the bookshelf for fans of Dan Brown, James Rollins, and the like.  If you haven’t had a chance to read my review of the book, you can find it here.  Go ahead – take a moment and give it a glance.  All caught up?  Great!

Long-time fans of the Reeves-Stevens’ most likely know them from their extensive work in the Star Trek Universe (their novel “Federation” is one of the top selling original Star Trek novels ever published).  They have worked in print, in television, in movies, and in animation – you can find their credits on their website – www.reeves-stevens.com.

I was fortunate enough to chat with both Judith and Garfield recently.  We discussed the new book “Search”, their process for writing, a few books on their “to read” pile, and – of course – their survival plans for inevitable zombie apocalypse…

Read More Read More

My Interview with “Feed” author – Mira Grant

My Interview with “Feed” author – Mira Grant

miragrant.com

If you read my review of “Feed” (and I hope you did), you know that it is one of the better zombie novels to come down the pike in a while.  Written by Mira Grant (an open pseudonym used by author Seanan McGuire),  “Feed” is the first book in a planned series – “The Newsflesh Trilogy”.  Set in a world 20 years after the zombie apocalypse, it’s a wonderful examination of how society survives the zombie plague, and what the difference is between learning to live instead of trying not to die.  (Seriously – if you haven’t read my review, go check it out – I’ll wait).

On her website, Grant describes herself as having “made a lifelong study of horror movies, horrible viruses, and the inevitable threat of the living dead”.  It’s no wonder that “Feed” was such a good read.  I recently had a chance to chat with Mira about some of her experiences writing the book, the role of zombies in literature, and her preferred method for dispatching an unruly zombie hoard.

Read More Read More