Tag: book

My interview with “Search” authors – Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens

My interview with “Search” authors – Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens

I recently read “Search: A Novel of Forbidden History” by Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens.  It was a very entertaining read, and a great addition to the bookshelf for fans of Dan Brown, James Rollins, and the like.  If you haven’t had a chance to read my review of the book, you can find it here.  Go ahead – take a moment and give it a glance.  All caught up?  Great!

Long-time fans of the Reeves-Stevens’ most likely know them from their extensive work in the Star Trek Universe (their novel “Federation” is one of the top selling original Star Trek novels ever published).  They have worked in print, in television, in movies, and in animation – you can find their credits on their website – www.reeves-stevens.com.

I was fortunate enough to chat with both Judith and Garfield recently.  We discussed the new book “Search”, their process for writing, a few books on their “to read” pile, and – of course – their survival plans for inevitable zombie apocalypse…

Read More Read More

Review – “The Raw Shark Texts” by Steven Hall

Review – “The Raw Shark Texts” by Steven Hall

When I finished reading Steven Hall’s debut novel, “The Raw Shark Texts” I wasn’t sure if it was brilliant, or if it was rubbish. I was not even sure that I was smart enough to tell the difference. What I did know was – it’s one of the most original and thought provoking concepts that I had read in a very long time. I needed a day or two to mull it over – and mull I did.

Read More Read More

Reveiw – “A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity” by Bill O’Reilly

Reveiw – “A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity” by Bill O’Reilly

“Bold Fresh” is a quick and enjoyable read. Let me say up front – I’m a fan of Bill O’Reilly and have read most of his other books. If you are a fan, chances are you will enjoy this latest book as well. If you are not a fan, and can put aside your reflexive hatred of the man (sorry – had to get that tweak in…) you can gain some valuable insight into what has led Mr. O’Reilly to where he is today.

Read More Read More

Review – “Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse” by Victor Bischler

Review – “Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse” by Victor Bischler

 

Let me start by saying that I am a fan of apocalyptic fiction. I love a good tale of the end of the world, whether by disease (The Stand), nuclear war (One Second After), zombies (World War Z), alien invasion (Footfall), cosmic disaster (Lucifer’s Hammer), or anything else suitably dire. “Go Go Girls of the Apocalypse” is not exactly one of those tales.

Read More Read More